North Dakota State Electrical Board • 2026 NEC • 1-Hour Closed Book • 3.5-Hour Open Book • 70% Passing • 8,000 Hours Experience
Ready to prepare for the North Dakota Journeyman Electrician examination? This guide covers the official licensing requirements, the open-book and closed-book exam portions, electrical code study, calculations, apprenticeship experience, continuing education, and related books from Contractor Exam Preps.
Electricity does not care whether you had a busy week, skipped breakfast, or forgot your calculator.
It follows the laws of physics.
That makes electrical knowledge, code compliance, and safe work practices especially important.
Journeyman electricians are trained professionals who install and maintain electrical systems used in homes, commercial buildings, farms, and industrial facilities.
Their responsibilities can involve wiring, lighting, services, feeders, branch circuits, grounding, bonding, overcurrent protection, controls, motors, and other electrical equipment.
Electrical installations must comply with the National Electrical Code and North Dakota's additional state requirements.
The North Dakota State Electrical Board, commonly called NDSEB, regulates and examines journeyman electricians.
Unlike some states that use PSI, Pearson VUE, or another outside examination company, North Dakota schedules and administers its electrical licensing exams through the Board.
Applicants must first qualify and obtain approval before selecting a test date.
A North Dakota Journeyman Electrician is an individually licensed electrical professional who has completed the required apprenticeship experience and training and passed the state's electrical examination.
Journeymen may perform electrical work within the responsibilities allowed by the Board.
However, a journeyman license is not the same as an electrical contracting master license.
A journeyman performing electrical work in North Dakota generally works under a licensed contracting master or master of record.
Someone who wants to operate an electrical contracting business must understand the additional licensing and supervision requirements.
North Dakota Journeyman Electrician licenses are issued and regulated by the North Dakota State Electrical Board.
The Board reviews practical experience, apprentice education, examination eligibility, and license renewals.
It also establishes and enforces state electrical wiring standards.
Its official website provides examination applications, employment verification forms, approved training resources, exam dates, and continuing education information.
Start with the official NDSEB examination information page.
The Board uses a two-part examination.
The combined testing time is four hours and thirty minutes.
The passing grade is 70%.
NDSEB does not publish a current official total question count or detailed question weighting on its examination information page.
Do not assume that question counts listed by unrelated exam providers are North Dakota's actual test format.
The closed-book portion lasts one hour.
It tests electrical knowledge without relying on a codebook during that part of the examination.
Candidates should prepare to understand electrical theory, formulas, electrical terminology, and practical trade principles.
Useful topics include Ohm's law, electrical power, series circuits, parallel circuits, voltage, current, resistance, and basic troubleshooting concepts.
Review common calculations until you can solve them without hunting through a reference manual.
The closed-book section rewards genuine understanding, not simply remembering where the index is located.
The open-book portion lasts three and one-half hours.
Candidates use codebooks supplied by the North Dakota State Electrical Board.
Electrical questions can involve NEC rules, article definitions, electrical calculations, wiring methods, installation requirements, and North Dakota state-specific electrical standards.
Being allowed to use a book does not mean every answer will be obvious.
Some questions require multiple code sections or careful reading of exceptions and table notes.
Practice code navigation and timed question-solving before exam day.
North Dakota's State Electrical Board lists a 70% passing grade for electrical examinations.
The Board does not provide an official journeyman question total in its current online exam information.
Therefore, there is no reliable basis for stating a fixed number of correct answers needed for the exam.
Focus on strong performance across electrical theory, the NEC, state laws, and wiring standards.
North Dakota adopted the 2026 National Electrical Code effective July 1, 2026.
The Board also issued the 2026 Laws, Rules, Wiring and Conveyance Standards of North Dakota, effective July 1, 2026.
This matters because older electrician preparation guides may still describe North Dakota as using the 2023 NEC.
The state previously adopted the 2023 NEC in July 2024, but its current standards have moved to the 2026 code cycle.
For current preparation, review the 2026 NEC and the updated state standards.
Confirm the exact reference edition included with your examination invitation if you are testing during a code transition.
Read the 2026 North Dakota Laws, Rules, Wiring and Conveyance Standards.
The Board's current exam instructions state that NDSEB provides:
This means candidates should not assume they may use a personally highlighted or tabbed NEC during the examination.
Study packages that include the 2026 NEC with tabs are intended for home preparation and code navigation practice.
Follow the Board's specific test-day instructions instead of rules used by another state.
State-specific laws and wiring standards are an important part of North Dakota exam preparation.
The examination is based on fundamental electricity, the Laws, Rules and Wiring Standards of North Dakota, and the current National Electrical Code.
The state's electrical regulations address supervision, licensing, electrical installations, inspections, wiring methods, equipment safety, and other requirements.
Some provisions are more restrictive than general national code requirements.
Electricians should understand both the national code and the rules that apply specifically in North Dakota.
North Dakota requires 8,000 qualifying hours of experience for Journeyman Electrician licensing.
Those hours cannot be obtained in less than three years.
The experience must meet the Board's apprentice registration, supervision, and qualification standards.
Applicants must also successfully complete approved apprentice electrician training.
Work experience normally must take place under the supervision of a licensed contracting master or master of record, in a jurisdiction with similar licensing and inspection requirements.
The Board recognizes limited credit for certain types of electrical work and education.
Yes. A graduate of a Board-accepted electrical school lasting two years or longer may receive up to 2,000 hours of qualifying experience credit.
One recognized route combines a two-year approved electrical college degree with 6,000 practical work hours.
The overall qualifying experience period still must meet the Board's requirements.
Do not assume every electrical course or school automatically receives credit.
Confirm acceptance directly with NDSEB.
North Dakota has several recognized training pathways.
One route requires 576 hours of Board-recognized training classes together with 8,000 practical work hours.
Another route uses a two-year approved electrical college degree and 6,000 practical work hours.
The Professional Electrician Apprenticeship Program, or PEAP, provides another specific pathway with additional work and instructional requirements.
Apprentices should register with the Board and maintain their registration.
The Board warns that hours worked while unregistered or after failing to renew a registration may not count toward journeyman qualification.
Applicants submit an examination application and supporting employment verification documentation to the Board.
The Board reviews the records to determine eligibility.
Once approved, the candidate receives an examination invitation listing available dates.
Candidates must select a date according to the Board's process.
They must take the examination within six months of receiving the invitation.
A candidate who cancels or fails to appear may need to file a new application and pay another fee.
The current Journeyman Electrician examination application fee is $25.
The annual license renewal fee is also $25.
Separate fees may apply when an applicant completes initial license issuance or reexamination requirements.
Use the current Board form to confirm the amount payable at each step.
The North Dakota State Electrical Board uses different waiting periods depending on the examination score.
Even when no waiting period applies, candidates must submit a new reexamination application and fee.
They must receive a new invitation before scheduling another examination.
Journeyman licenses expire on March 31 each year.
The annual renewal fee is $25.
Licensees must have eight approved continuing education hours on file.
At least four of those hours must address the electrical code.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Board's approved code continuing education classes moved to the 2026 NEC.
The continuing education provider must report completed hours to the Board.
Plan ahead because the provider has time to submit its attendance records.
Start with basic electricity.
Review voltage, current, resistance, power, and energy.
Practice using Ohm's law.
Learn the relationships between resistance and current in series and parallel circuits.
Review single-phase and three-phase electrical systems.
Understand how electrical quantities affect conductor selection and circuit behavior.
Study the difference between a service, feeder, and branch circuit.
Review service disconnects, feeder conductors, branch-circuit protection, and electrical load calculations.
Learn to identify service equipment and downstream distribution equipment.
Practice calculations for dwelling units and commercial installations.
Grounding and bonding are essential electrical safety subjects.
Study grounding electrode systems, equipment grounding conductors, bonding jumpers, and effective ground-fault current paths.
Understand why grounding and bonding have different functions.
Review service bonding and separately derived systems.
Practice using the applicable 2026 NEC sections and tables.
Review conductor material, insulation, temperature ratings, conductor ampacity, and installation conditions.
Study correction and adjustment factors.
Practice selecting suitable conductors for loads and overcurrent protective devices.
Review conductor termination limitations and relevant table notes.
Study wiring methods and materials.
Review conduit installation, raceway protection, conductor fill, electrical boxes, fittings, and supports.
Practice raceway fill calculations using the appropriate 2026 NEC references.
Review outlet box and device box sizing rules.
Study circuit breakers, fuses, branch-circuit protection, conductor protection, and device ratings.
Learn the difference between overload and short-circuit protection.
Review situations involving motors, transformers, and specialized equipment.
Study motor full-load current, branch-circuit conductor sizing, motor overload protection, disconnecting means, and controller requirements.
Review contactors, starters, relays, and control circuits.
Practice motor calculations and reading equipment nameplates.
Review transformer principles, primary and secondary circuits, overcurrent protection, and grounding and bonding.
Study panelboards, switches, receptacles, lighting equipment, and equipment installation requirements.
Practice electrical calculations involving different voltages and loads.
Review NEC provisions addressing special occupancies, special equipment, and special conditions.
Examples include hazardous locations, emergency systems, generators, agricultural facilities, and other electrical installations.
These subjects may require different rules than ordinary residential wiring.
Electrical safety is essential for all stages of installation and maintenance.
Review shock hazards, arc-flash awareness, protective equipment, safe work procedures, and equipment inspection.
Learn proper procedures for deenergizing and verifying electrical circuits.
Study worksite hazards and safe electrical troubleshooting.
The 2026 North Dakota Journeyman Electrician Study Guide and NEC Combo pairs a state-specific study guide with a 2026 NEC paperback and tabs.
The 2026 Journeyman Electrician Study Guide and NEC Combo is another electrical preparation option.
The 2023 North Dakota Journeyman Electrician and Calculations Combo offers additional calculations practice, but uses the older 2023 NEC.
For current North Dakota code-specific study, prioritize materials based on the adopted 2026 NEC.
Older books may still be useful for general electrical formulas, provided any code differences are checked.
Divide your study time into two types of practice.
For the closed-book portion, answer theory and calculation questions without consulting references.
For the open-book portion, practice finding and applying rules in the 2026 NEC.
Include North Dakota state laws and wiring standards throughout both types of review.
Take timed practice examinations, correct mistakes, and repeat difficult calculations.
Remember that the Board supplies codebooks, calculators, and pencils on exam day.
Your goal is to enter the testing room knowing the material well enough to use those tools efficiently.
Important North Dakota 2026 Journeyman Electrician Update: The North Dakota State Electrical Board adopted the 2026 National Electrical Code and the 2026 Laws, Rules, Wiring and Conveyance Standards effective July 1, 2026. Its current exam page lists a one-hour closed-book portion and a three-and-one-half-hour open-book portion for Journeyman Electricians. The required passing grade is 70%. NDSEB provides codebooks, calculators, and pencils. The Board does not publish a current official question count or subject weighting on its exam information page, so third-party numbers should not be treated as official. Candidates need 8,000 qualifying experience hours over at least three years, along with the appropriate approved apprenticeship education. The Journeyman license expires March 31, and annual renewal requires eight continuing education hours, including at least four code hours.
The North Dakota Journeyman Electrician license is an individual electrical trade credential.
It demonstrates that a worker has met Board-approved experience, education, and examination requirements.
Journeyman electricians perform electrical installation, maintenance, and repair work within the scope allowed by the state.
A journeyman license does not independently authorize someone to act as a contracting master electrician.
Electrical contracting responsibilities are governed by separate master licensing requirements.
License: Journeyman Electrician.
Authority: North Dakota State Electrical Board.
Exam administrator: State Electrical Board.
Exam: One-hour closed book and 3.5-hour open book.
Passing: 70%.
Current code: 2026 NEC and North Dakota's 2026 wiring standards.
| Requirement | North Dakota Information | Preparation |
|---|---|---|
| State | North Dakota | Follow NDSEB requirements. |
| Credential | Journeyman Electrician | Individual trade license. |
| Licensing Authority | State Electrical Board | Use official forms. |
| Exam Administrator | NDSEB | Board-scheduled examination. |
| Experience Required | 8,000 Hours | Document qualifying work. |
| Minimum Experience Period | Three Years | Cannot earn qualifying time faster. |
| Apprentice Registration | Required | Maintain current registration. |
| Apprentice Supervision | Licensed Supervision | Meet Board standards. |
| Related Training Route | 576 Hours | With qualifying 8,000-hour experience. |
| Approved College Route | Two-Year Electrical Degree | May receive 2,000 experience-hour credit. |
| College Route Work | 6,000 Hours | Meet remaining practical requirements. |
| PEAP Route | Separate Approved Pathway | Additional work and instruction required. |
| Exam Application | Required | Submit before selecting date. |
| Employment Verification | Required | Use Board forms. |
| Board Approval | Required | Wait for invitation. |
| Exam Invitation Period | Six Months | Test before expiration. |
| Closed-Book Portion | 60 Minutes | Study without references. |
| Open-Book Portion | 210 Minutes | Practice NEC navigation. |
| Combined Time | 270 Minutes | Four hours thirty minutes. |
| Passing Grade | 70% | Board-published standard. |
| Official Question Count | Not Published on Board Exam Page | Do not assume outside numbers. |
| Official Topic Weights | Not Published on Board Exam Page | Follow listed subject areas. |
| Exam Code | 2026 NEC | Current adopted code cycle. |
| State Wiring Standards | 2026 Edition | Effective July 1, 2026. |
| Codebook on Exam Day | Provided by NDSEB | Personal tabs for home study. |
| Calculator on Exam Day | Provided by NDSEB | Practice using a standard calculator. |
| Pencils | Provided by NDSEB | Follow exam invitation. |
| Fundamental Electricity | Exam Subject | Theory and calculations. |
| North Dakota Laws | Exam Subject | Study state legal requirements. |
| North Dakota Rules | Exam Subject | Review license regulations. |
| Wiring Standards | Exam Subject | Review state-specific provisions. |
| Journeyman Application Fee | $25 | Check current form. |
| Annual License Renewal | $25 | Renew each year. |
| License Expiration | March 31 | Renew on time. |
| Continuing Education | 8 Hours | Approved courses. |
| Minimum Code CE | 4 Hours | At least half code-related. |
| 2026 CE Code Cycle | Effective July 1, 2026 | 2026 NEC approved courses. |
| Score 60-69 | No Retest Wait | New application still required. |
| Score 50-59 | Three-Month Wait | Reapply after waiting period. |
| Score 0-49 | Six-Month Wait | Reapply after waiting period. |
| Detail | Category | Official or Study Information |
|---|---|---|
| Exam Name | Licensing | Journeyman Electrician |
| State | Licensing | North Dakota |
| Board | Licensing | NDSEB |
| Testing Organization | Examination | State Electrical Board |
| Closed Book | Examination | One Hour |
| Open Book | Examination | 3.5 Hours |
| Total Examination Time | Examination | 4.5 Hours |
| Passing Standard | Scoring | 70% |
| Question Count | Scoring | Not Publicly Stated by Board |
| Subject Blueprint | Scoring | No Official Category Weights Listed |
| NEC Edition | References | 2026 |
| NEC Adoption | References | July 1, 2026 |
| State Standards | References | 2026 Laws, Rules, Wiring and Conveyance Standards |
| Codebooks | Exam Materials | Provided by NDSEB |
| Calculators | Exam Materials | Provided by NDSEB |
| Pencils | Exam Materials | Provided by NDSEB |
| Personal Tabbed NEC | Exam Materials | For Home Study, Not a Board-Provided Item |
| Fundamental Electricity | Topics | Board-Listed General Subject |
| ND Electrical Laws | Topics | Board-Listed General Subject |
| ND Electrical Rules | Topics | Board-Listed General Subject |
| ND Wiring Standards | Topics | Board-Listed General Subject |
| NEC Requirements | Topics | Board-Listed General Subject |
| Electrical Theory | Suggested Review | Ohm's Law, Voltage, Current and Resistance |
| Electrical Calculations | Suggested Review | Load, Ampacity and Circuit Calculations |
| Grounding and Bonding | Suggested Review | NEC Requirements |
| Services and Feeders | Suggested Review | Electrical Distribution |
| Branch Circuits | Suggested Review | Conductors and Protection |
| Wiring Methods | Suggested Review | Raceways, Boxes and Cables |
| Overcurrent Protection | Suggested Review | Circuit Breakers and Fuses |
| Motors and Transformers | Suggested Review | Equipment Rules and Calculations |
| Special Installations | Suggested Review | Occupancies, Equipment and Conditions |
| Application Fee | Fees | $25 |
| License Renewal | Fees | $25 Annually |
| Continuing Education | Renewal | 8 Hours |
| Code Continuing Education | Renewal | At Least 4 Hours |
| License Expires | Renewal | March 31 |
Closed portion: 60 minutes.
Open portion: 210 minutes.
Total: 270 minutes.
Passing: 70%.
No published official question count: Avoid using invented question totals when studying.
The Board identifies fundamental electricity, North Dakota laws and rules, state wiring standards, and the current NEC as examination subjects. The following areas are recommended study topics, not an official question-weighted exam blueprint.
Review voltage, current, resistance, power, energy, electrical circuits, and basic electrical theory. Practice solving problems without reference materials to prepare for the one-hour closed-book section.
Practice Ohm's law, power formulas, load calculations, conductor sizing, voltage drop, and other electrical math. Focus on solving problems accurately and checking units.
Study the current 2026 state publication. Review licensing, supervision, apprentice registration, inspections, applicable responsibilities, and state-specific installation requirements.
Review branch-circuit conductor sizing, receptacles, required circuits, GFCI and AFCI protection, and overcurrent devices. Use the current NEC layout when locating the applicable requirements.
Study service equipment, disconnecting means, feeders, load calculations, and conductors. Review residential and commercial electrical distribution.
Practice grounding electrode systems, bonding, equipment grounding conductors, separately derived systems, and grounding-related calculations.
Review wire types, conductor insulation, ampacity, correction and adjustment factors, cable systems, raceways, fittings, and equipment wiring requirements.
Practice determining conductor quantities, conduit capacity, box volume, device allowances, and related installation requirements.
Review circuit breakers, fuses, conductor protection, equipment protection, and common overcurrent scenarios.
Study motor circuits, controllers, overload protection, disconnecting means, and motor calculation methods.
Review transformers, panelboards, luminaires, special occupancies, special equipment, agricultural systems, and other code requirements.
Review safe electrical work practices, shock prevention, equipment inspection, protective devices, and jobsite safety responsibilities.
Official general subjects: Fundamental electricity, state laws, state rules, wiring standards, and NEC.
Technical topics above: Recommended preparation categories.
Official category-by-category counts: Not published on the current NDSEB examination page.
Begin by reading the official exam instructions and the 2026 North Dakota wiring standards.
Divide your study into closed-book and open-book practice.
For the closed section, practice electrical theory and core calculations without a reference book.
For the open section, use the 2026 NEC to find rules and work through realistic code problems.
Study North Dakota laws and rules regularly.
Review conductor sizing, grounding and bonding, branch circuits, services, feeders, and motors.
Include voltage drop, load calculations, box fill, and raceway fill.
Keep a notebook of missed questions for home use.
When a problem is wrong, identify the exact rule or calculation that caused the mistake.
Practice in timed sessions so you become comfortable working under pressure.
The 2026 North Dakota Journeyman Study Guide and NEC Combo can help organize these subjects.
Closed-book practice: No reference materials.
Open-book practice: Use the 2026 NEC for code lookup.
State review: 2026 North Dakota Laws, Rules, Wiring and Conveyance Standards.
Final review: Timed questions, calculations, and weak topics.
Journeyman electricians should understand how electrical power is distributed through service equipment, feeders, panelboards, branch circuits, and final loads.
Simplified educational diagram. Actual electrical work must follow the 2026 NEC, North Dakota wiring standards, approved plans, and the applicable safety requirements.
Register with the North Dakota State Electrical Board and keep the registration active while completing qualifying work.
Follow the Board-recognized training pathway that applies to your education and experience, such as related training classes or an accepted electrical college program.
Document 8,000 qualifying hours over at least three years, or the approved equivalent route with allowable education credit.
Prepare the Board's work verification form and other required supporting information.
Submit the examination application and applicable fee to NDSEB.
After approval, select one of the available Board dates and test within six months of the invitation.
Prepare for the one-hour closed-book and 3.5-hour open-book portions using the 2026 NEC and state standards.
Finish all Board requirements and renew annually with eight approved continuing education hours, including at least four code hours.
The Board publishes examination time limits, but not a detailed public subject-by-subject question blueprint.
The chart below shows the official time allocation, not question weighting.
The following percentages are an example study schedule. They are not claims about the number of questions appearing on the licensing test.
Official exam time: 270 minutes.
Official subject weighting: Not provided on the Board's public exam information page.
Study allocation: Suggested learning plan only, totaling 100%.
Passing grade: 70%.
| Reference or Study Material | Edition or Source | Purpose |
|---|---|---|
| National Electrical Code | 2026 | Current state electrical code and exam study. |
| Laws, Rules, Wiring and Conveyance Standards of North Dakota | 2026 | Current state-specific requirements. |
| NDSEB Exam Codebooks | Board Provided | Exam-day code references. |
| NDSEB Calculators | Board Provided | Exam-day calculations. |
| NDSEB Pencils | Board Provided | Exam-day writing materials. |
| North Dakota Journeyman Study Guide | 2026 NEC-Based | State-focused trade preparation. |
| 2026 NEC Paperback with Tabs | 2026 | Home study and practice navigation. |
| 2026 General Journeyman Study Guide | 2026 | Additional practice and study review. |
| 2023 North Dakota Journeyman Calculations Combo | 2023 NEC-Based | Older calculations study; verify code differences. |
| 2023 Journeyman Online Test Success Kit | 2023 NEC-Based | Older general practice material, not current code reference. |
| NDSEB Qualifications Page | Official Website | Experience and apprentice eligibility. |
| NDSEB Examination Page | Official Website | Exam format and scheduling. |
| NDSEB Renewal Page | Official Website | Annual license and continuing education. |
| NDSEB 2026 Approved Continuing Education Courses | 2026 NEC Cycle | Ongoing license maintenance. |
Official exam-day references: Codebooks, calculators, and pencils supplied by NDSEB.
For home study: A 2026 NEC paperback with tabs can help build code-navigation skills.
For state-specific review: Read the 2026 North Dakota Laws, Rules, Wiring and Conveyance Standards.
Older code editions: Useful for some general concepts, but not substitutes for current 2026 code preparation.
The two-part examination requires two kinds of skill.
Closed-book practice builds memory and understanding.
Open-book practice builds reference-navigation speed and accurate application of code rules.
Both require a strong electrical foundation.
North Dakota Journeyman Electricians perform qualifying electrical installation, maintenance, and repair work within the scope allowed by state law.
Typical activities involve circuits, conductors, panelboards, lighting, raceways, electrical equipment, motors, and controls.
Work may occur in residential, commercial, industrial, and agricultural settings.
However, a journeyman license is not an independent electrical contractor license.
North Dakota requires the appropriate contracting master or master-of-record supervision arrangement for electrical work.
Electricians also must follow the current NEC, state electrical standards, permits, and inspection requirements.
Individual credential: Journeyman Electrician.
Electrical work: Installation, maintenance, and repair within permitted scope.
Business contracting: Separate contracting master requirements apply.
Electrical code: 2026 NEC and North Dakota 2026 wiring standards.
| Credential | General Purpose | Important Difference |
|---|---|---|
| Registered Apprentice Electrician | Learning and supervised work. | Not a Journeyman Electrician license. |
| Journeyman Electrician | Qualified electrical installation and maintenance. | 8,000 qualifying hours and approved training. |
| Contracting Master Electrician | Electrical contracting responsibility. | Separate experience, examination, and insurance requirements. |
| Master of Record | Responsible electrical professional for an organization. | Limited to the organizational work allowed by state rules. |
| Non-Contracting Master | Master-level individual designation. | Does not independently authorize contracting activity. |
| Class B Electrician | Limited residential and farmstead electrical work. | Different scope, licensing requirements, and supervision rules. |
| Power Limited Electrician | Specialized power-limited electrical systems. | Different license classification and examination structure. |
One-Hour Closed Book • 3.5-Hour Open Book
8,000 Hours • At Least Three Years
$25 Annual Renewal • Eight CE Hours
The North Dakota Journeyman Electrician exam can be challenging because it combines electrical knowledge with practical code application.
The closed-book section requires strong understanding without a reference book.
The open-book section requires knowledge of the NEC and the ability to locate relevant requirements efficiently.
The state also tests fundamental electricity and North Dakota-specific electrical laws and wiring standards.
This means memorizing random practice answers is not enough.
Students need to understand why each answer is correct.
Calculations can be difficult if formulas are unfamiliar.
Code questions can be difficult when exceptions or table notes change the result.
The 2026 NEC is especially important because the state's code cycle changed in July 2026.
Candidates should avoid relying exclusively on books written for the older 2023 code.
The good news is that consistent preparation can make each topic easier to understand.
Study electrical theory, complete calculations, practice code lookup, and review the state standards.
With steady work, the exam becomes a series of familiar electrical problems rather than a wall of unfamiliar questions.
These related products are sold by Contractor Exam Preps. They support journeyman-level electrical review, calculations, and NEC navigation.
For current exam preparation, choose the 2026 NEC materials when possible and separately study North Dakota's state laws and wiring standards.
North Dakota Study Guide • 2026 NEC • Tabs
Best for: North Dakota journeyman candidates who want a current state-focused study guide and the 2026 NEC.
Exam-day reminder: NDSEB supplies its own codebooks, calculators, and pencils. The tabbed NEC is intended for preparation.
General Journeyman Practice • 2026 NEC
Best for: Candidates wanting additional electrical practice questions based on the current 2026 code.
Important: It is a general product. North Dakota's actual exam timing and rules come from NDSEB.
North Dakota Guide • Calculations • Older 2023 NEC
Best for: Supplemental electrical calculations and general study when candidates understand it is based on the previous 2023 NEC.
Important: This package uses the 2023 NEC, not the current 2026 code adopted by North Dakota. Verify every code-specific answer against the updated edition.
Best current code match: 2026 North Dakota Journeyman Study Guide and NEC Combo.
Additional practice: General 2026 Journeyman Study Guide and NEC Combo.
Supplementary older resource: 2023 North Dakota Journeyman Calculations Combo.
Official Board standards: 2026 Laws, Rules, Wiring and Conveyance Standards.
Actual North Dakota Journeyman Electrician study-product image hosted on ContractorExamPreps.com.
The image represents a 2026 North Dakota Journeyman Electrician study guide, NEC codebook, and tabs. It is a related educational product image, not an official state-issued Journeyman Electrician license.
Journeyman Electrician • North Dakota State Electrical Board • 2026 NEC • Open Book • Closed Book • Electrical Theory • Calculations
North Dakota Journeyman Electrician Licensing
The North Dakota State Electrical Board regulates, examines, and licenses Journeyman Electricians.
Applicants generally need 8,000 qualifying hours of registered apprentice experience, earned over at least three years, along with approved apprenticeship education.
No. The Board's Journeyman qualification rules say the experience may not be obtained in less than three years.
Yes. A Board-approved electrical degree of two years or longer may qualify for up to 2,000 hours of experience credit.
One recognized pathway includes 576 hours of Board-recognized related training classes and 8,000 practical work hours.
PEAP stands for Professional Electrician Apprenticeship Program. It is a specific approved education pathway involving additional work experience and 372 hours of related instruction.
Yes. Apprentice electricians must register with NDSEB and maintain active registration. The Board warns that hours worked while unregistered or expired may not count toward Journeyman qualification.
Examination Format and Passing Score
The exam has two parts: one hour closed book and 3.5 hours open book.
The two listed portions total four hours and thirty minutes.
The North Dakota State Electrical Board lists a 70% passing grade for its electrical licensing examinations.
The Board's current public examination page does not provide an official total question count. Candidates should follow their Board examination invitation and avoid relying on unverified third-party numbers.
No detailed category-by-category question weighting is listed on the current public NDSEB exam information page.
The State Electrical Board currently administers and schedules the examination through its own application and invitation process.
2026 NEC and Examination References
North Dakota adopted the 2026 National Electrical Code effective July 1, 2026.
The current state publication is the 2026 Laws, Rules, Wiring and Conveyance Standards of North Dakota, effective July 1, 2026.
Yes. The Board lists codebooks among the items it provides for the electrical examinations.
The Board supplies its own codebooks. Personal tabbed codebooks are useful for home study, but candidates should follow the Board's exam invitation rather than assume personal books are permitted.
Yes. The official exam information page lists codebooks, calculators, and pencils as Board-provided items.
Older editions can help with basic electrical concepts, but North Dakota moved to the 2026 NEC in July 2026. Current code-specific preparation should use the 2026 edition and state standards.
Technical Preparation
Study fundamental electricity, North Dakota laws and rules, state wiring standards, the 2026 NEC, electrical calculations, services, feeders, branch circuits, conductors, grounding and bonding, wiring methods, motors, and safety.
Yes. Electrical theory and formulas are useful preparation for the closed-book section and general journeyman knowledge.
Yes. Grounding and bonding are core NEC and electrical safety subjects. Practice grounding systems, bonding rules, equipment grounding conductors, and fault-current paths.
Yes. Practice loads, conductor ampacity, voltage drop, raceway fill, box fill, motors, and other common electrician calculations.
Yes. The Board explicitly identifies North Dakota laws, rules, and wiring standards as examination subjects.
Applications, Retesting, and Fees
Yes. Applicants must first apply and be approved by NDSEB. The Board then sends an invitation with available examination dates.
The Board requires candidates to test within six months of receiving an examination invitation.
The Board's published Journeyman application fee is $25. Confirm the current payment instructions when applying.
There is no required waiting period, but candidates must submit a new reexamination application and fee and receive another invitation.
The Board requires a three-month waiting period before reapplying for examination.
The Board requires a six-month waiting period before a new examination application.
License Renewal and Career Advancement
North Dakota Journeyman Electrician licenses expire on March 31 each year.
The current Board-published annual Journeyman renewal fee is $25.
Eight Board-approved continuing education hours are required, including at least four code-related hours.
A Journeyman Electrician license is not the same as a contracting master license. Electrical contracting work must follow the Board's separate master and contracting requirements.
Contractor Exam Preps Products
Yes. The store offers a 2026 North Dakota Journeyman Electrician Study Guide and NEC Combo with tabs.
It includes a 2026 North Dakota Journeyman Electrician Study Guide and a 2026 NEC paperback with tabs.
Yes. Contractor Exam Preps lists a North Dakota Journeyman and Electrician Calculations combo based on the older 2023 NEC. Use the current 2026 edition to verify all code-specific material.
No. Study materials can help organize preparation but do not guarantee an examination result, Board approval, or a license.
Watch this related 1ExamPrep video for Journeyman Electrician examination study strategies, electrical subjects, NEC navigation, preparation planning, and exam-day tips.
The video covers general journeyman electrical exam preparation rather than North Dakota's exact Board-administered examination.
Its code-study and electrical review methods are useful for North Dakota candidates.
North Dakota reminder: The state has a one-hour closed-book portion and a 3.5-hour open-book portion. NDSEB supplies the exam codebooks, calculators, and pencils. North Dakota adopted the 2026 NEC effective July 1, 2026.
Creator: 1ExamPrep.
Video title: 2026 Journeyman Electrician Exam Prep License Study Guide.
Relevant subjects: Electrical theory, NEC navigation, study planning, electrical calculations, and examination preparation.
North Dakota administrator: NDSEB.
North Dakota time: One-hour closed and 3.5-hour open.
Passing: 70%.
Use the North Dakota State Electrical Board for official licensing, apprenticeship, examination, code, and continuing education requirements.
Use Contractor Exam Preps for relevant 2026 NEC study guides, practice exams, and calculations resources.
Official license: North Dakota Journeyman Electrician.
Exam: One hour closed book plus 3.5 hours open book.
Passing: 70%.
Current NEC: 2026 edition, adopted July 1, 2026.
Official Board materials: Codebooks, calculators, and pencils.
Related store products: State-specific Journeyman NEC combo, general Journeyman guide, and electrical calculations study packages.
Preparing for the North Dakota Journeyman Electrician examination is an important step for electrical apprentices who want to advance their careers and demonstrate their knowledge of electrical installation and safety.
Journeyman electricians work with electrical systems that power homes, offices, shops, farms, and industrial buildings.
Their work requires attention to electrical theory, wiring methods, equipment selection, calculations, protective devices, and safe installation practices.
North Dakota regulates this work through the North Dakota State Electrical Board.
The Board reviews applicant qualifications, administers licensing examinations, and issues electrical licenses.
It also establishes state electrical wiring requirements.
The Journeyman Electrician license is an individual credential.
It is different from a contracting master electrician license.
Licensed journeymen must perform their electrical work within the responsibilities and supervision requirements established by the Board.
Applicants must first meet the experience and training qualifications.
North Dakota requires 8,000 qualifying practical experience hours.
Those hours cannot be earned in less than three years.
The experience must be properly documented and obtained under qualified electrical supervision.
Apprentice electrician training is also required.
One approved pathway includes 576 hours of related instruction.
Another recognizes an accepted two-year electrical college degree and permits up to 2,000 hours of experience credit.
The Professional Electrician Apprenticeship Program provides another route with additional work experience and related instruction requirements.
Apprentices should keep their registration active.
The Board warns that work completed while an apprentice is unregistered or has failed to renew may not count toward licensing.
After completing the qualifying experience and education, applicants submit the examination application and employment verification forms.
The Board reviews those documents.
Approved applicants receive an examination invitation showing available dates.
The exam must be completed within six months of the invitation.
The North Dakota Journeyman examination has two parts.
The closed-book portion lasts one hour.
The open-book portion lasts three and one-half hours.
The total testing time is four hours and thirty minutes.
The passing grade is 70%.
The Board's public examination information does not list an official question count or detailed topic percentages.
Therefore, preparation should not rely on question totals or weightings published by unrelated test-preparation sites.
Instead, use the subjects identified by the Board.
These include fundamental electricity, North Dakota electrical laws, state rules, wiring standards, and the current National Electrical Code.
The closed-book section requires strong understanding of electrical principles.
Students should practice voltage, current, resistance, power, series circuits, parallel circuits, and basic calculations.
Memorizing formulas is useful, but understanding when and how to use them is even more important.
The open-book section requires accurate code interpretation.
Students should practice locating electrical rules and applying them to realistic installation questions.
Important study areas include services, feeders, branch circuits, conductor sizing, grounding and bonding, raceways, boxes, overcurrent protection, motors, and transformers.
Electrical calculations should be reviewed frequently.
Common practice areas include load calculations, conductor ampacity, voltage drop, box fill, conduit fill, and motor sizing.
Grounding and bonding deserve attention because they affect electrical safety and installation compliance.
Correct grounding electrode systems, bonding jumpers, equipment grounding conductors, and fault-current paths are essential.
North Dakota-specific rules are another important part of the examination.
Students should read the current state publication rather than relying only on the NEC.
North Dakota adopted the 2026 National Electrical Code effective July 1, 2026.
It also adopted the 2026 Laws, Rules, Wiring and Conveyance Standards.
This replaces the older 2023 code cycle for current electrical requirements.
Older electrician preparation books may still contain useful electrical formulas and general principles.
However, code-specific questions should be checked against the current 2026 edition.
The Board provides codebooks, calculators, and pencils at the examination.
That means candidates should not assume they may bring a personal highlighted or tabbed NEC.
Study tabs can still be valuable during home preparation.
They help students learn how NEC chapters, articles, definitions, and tables are organized.
During practice, students can use their own 2026 NEC to build code-navigation speed.
On test day, they must use the materials and procedures approved by NDSEB.
Retesting rules should also be understood.
A candidate who scores between 60% and 69% has no mandatory waiting period before reapplying.
A score between 50% and 59% requires a three-month wait.
A score below 50% requires a six-month wait.
Each retest requires another application and fee.
Completing the licensing examination is only one part of a journeyman's professional responsibilities.
North Dakota Journeyman licenses expire on March 31 each year.
The current annual renewal fee is $25.
Eight approved continuing education hours are required for renewal.
At least four of those hours must involve the electrical code.
Beginning July 1, 2026, the Board's approved code continuing education moved to the 2026 NEC.
Continuing education helps electricians remain familiar with new equipment, updated code provisions, safety practices, and changing electrical technology.
Contractor Exam Preps offers related North Dakota Journeyman Electrician study materials.
The 2026 North Dakota Journeyman Electrician Study Guide and NEC Combo includes a state-focused guide, 2026 NEC paperback, and tabs.
The 2026 General Journeyman Study Guide and NEC Combo provides additional electrical study support.
The store also sells a 2023 North Dakota Journeyman Electrician and Calculations Combo.
Because that older package uses the 2023 NEC, students should verify all code-specific content against the current code.
A six-week preparation schedule can make studying easier to manage.
Start with electrical theory and North Dakota rules.
Continue with grounding and bonding, services, feeders, and branch circuits.
Then study conductors, raceways, boxes, motors, and equipment.
Finish with timed open-book and closed-book practice.
Use every missed question as an opportunity to review a formula or locate the correct code rule.
With steady preparation, qualifying experience, an understanding of North Dakota's regulations, and familiarity with the 2026 NEC, candidates can approach their Journeyman Electrician examination with greater confidence.
North Dakota Journeyman Electrician Contractor Exam Prep helps electrical apprentices prepare for their statewide licensing examination and understand the requirements established by the North Dakota State Electrical Board.
The Journeyman Electrician license is an individual electrical trade credential.
It represents qualification to perform electrical work within the scope allowed by North Dakota laws and rules.
The state requires electrical work to follow the National Electrical Code and North Dakota wiring standards.
The licensing authority is the North Dakota State Electrical Board.
The Board evaluates applications, reviews experience and training, schedules examinations, and issues licenses.
Journeyman candidates need qualifying practical experience.
The Board generally requires 8,000 hours.
These hours must be obtained over at least three years.
The applicant must be registered as an apprentice and satisfy applicable supervision requirements.
Approved apprentice electrician education must also be completed.
One training route includes 576 hours of related instruction combined with 8,000 practical hours.
Another pathway includes a qualifying two-year electrical college degree.
The Board may grant up to 2,000 hours of experience credit for an accepted electrical college program.
That pathway generally requires 6,000 practical hours and compliance with the Board's experience rules.
Other specialized education pathways, including PEAP, have additional requirements.
Apprentices should maintain their registration and keep accurate work records.
After completing the requirements, candidates apply for examination approval.
The application includes employment verification and the applicable fee.
NDSEB reviews the paperwork and sends an examination invitation after approval.
The invitation provides available test dates.
Applicants must take the examination within six months of receiving it.
The Journeyman examination has two timed portions.
The closed-book section lasts one hour.
The open-book section lasts three and one-half hours.
The combined testing time is four hours and thirty minutes.
The required passing grade is 70%.
The Board's current public examination page does not state an official number of questions.
It also does not provide a detailed subject weighting chart.
Students should avoid trusting fixed question totals unless confirmed by the Board.
The official examination subjects include fundamental electricity, North Dakota laws, rules, wiring standards, and the current National Electrical Code.
The closed-book portion requires electrical knowledge without codebook lookup.
Students should practice Ohm's law, voltage, current, resistance, power, and electrical circuits.
They should also review formulas and basic electrical calculations.
The open-book portion requires familiarity with NEC requirements.
Students should practice finding articles, definitions, exceptions, tables, and installation rules.
Common study topics include branch circuits, services, feeders, grounding, bonding, conductor sizing, wiring methods, raceways, boxes, overcurrent protection, motors, and transformers.
North Dakota's state-specific electrical standards should be studied alongside the NEC.
The state adopted the 2026 National Electrical Code effective July 1, 2026.
The 2026 Laws, Rules, Wiring and Conveyance Standards became effective on the same date.
The previous code cycle used the 2023 NEC.
Students should therefore prioritize current 2026 materials.
Some older electrical study guides remain useful for basic concepts.
However, older code sections and installation rules may differ from current requirements.
For test day, NDSEB supplies codebooks, calculators, and pencils.
Students should not assume they can bring their own tabbed codebook.
A personal 2026 NEC with tabs is useful for home study and practicing article navigation.
It helps students learn where electrical requirements are located.
During the examination, the Board's instructions control which materials may be used.
The exam's two-part structure calls for two kinds of preparation.
Closed-book practice builds memory and confidence with electrical concepts.
Open-book practice builds code-reading skills and reference lookup speed.
A useful study plan includes both.
Grounding and bonding should receive regular review.
Study grounding electrodes, bonding conductors, and effective fault-current paths.
Review services, feeders, and branch circuits.
Practice residential and commercial load calculations.
Study conductor ampacity, installation conditions, and overcurrent protection.
Review wiring methods, raceway fill, and box fill.
Practice motor calculations and controller requirements.
Include safety and North Dakota state laws in the study schedule.
Retesting rules should be understood before applying.
A score from 60% through 69% has no waiting period before reapplication.
A score from 50% through 59% requires three months.
A score below 50% requires six months.
Candidates must submit a reexamination application and fee before receiving another invitation.
Journeyman licensing also involves annual renewal.
North Dakota Journeyman licenses expire on March 31.
The annual renewal fee is $25.
Eight approved continuing education hours must be on file.
At least four hours must be related to the electrical code.
The 2026 continuing education code cycle began July 1, 2026.
The course provider submits completion information to the Board.
Licensed electricians should complete the required training before the renewal deadline.
Contractor Exam Preps sells related electrical study packages.
The 2026 North Dakota Journeyman Electrician Study Guide and NEC Combo provides state-specific journeyman review with a 2026 NEC paperback and tabs.
A general 2026 Journeyman Electrician Study Guide and NEC Combo is another option for practice.
Older North Dakota packages include additional calculations material based on the 2023 NEC.
Students using older resources should compare code-dependent information with the current 2026 edition.
A six-week study schedule can make preparation more organized.
Start with fundamental electricity and state laws.
Then review grounding, bonding, conductor sizing, services, feeders, and branch circuits.
Continue with wiring methods, raceways, overcurrent devices, motors, transformers, and electrical equipment.
Finish with timed theory questions and 2026 NEC lookups.
Review missed questions until the reasons behind the answers are understood.
Contractor Exam Preps study materials can support this process without replacing official licensing requirements.
With practical electrical experience, approved apprentice education, consistent preparation, and familiarity with North Dakota's 2026 standards, candidates can build the knowledge needed for the state's Journeyman Electrician examination.
Explore North Dakota Journeyman Electrician study guides, 2026 NEC books, electrical calculations, code navigation materials, and related preparation products at ContractorExamPreps.com.